Art dealer of the Avantgarde
De 
 |
En

Flechtheim AND his work

Dedication

This webste is dedicated to Alfred Flechtheim.

ONLINE EXHIBITION

Until March 2014 exhibitions in 15 museums and on the website www.alfredflechtheim.com will be showing works of art whose provenance (ownership history) has a connection with Alfred Flechtheim’s galleries. These works came into the various collections along a number of different routes. Some museums acquired them directly from Flechtheim, either as purchases or gifts or through his intervention; others were sold by him to third parties and arrived at the museums – usually after 1945 – after several interim stops. Read more...

 

FLECHTHEIM AND THE MUSEUMS

Hamburg Leipzig Dortmund Bonn Hannover Bremen Münster Düsseldorf Köln Frankfurt Karlsruhe Stuttgart München Zürich
Berlin Wien Köln Frankfurt Düsseldorf
Historical locations of the Galerie Flechtheim
Participating museums

Tweetup 12.12.2013

In context of this exhibition we will organise a tweetup in Hamburg (Hamburger Kunsthalle, 17:00) and Munich (Pinakothek der Moderne, 18:00) during which we will post tweets regarding the provenance Flechtheim. All tweets will be marked with #flechtheim and can be found on the tweetwall which is available here.

Provenance research

Provenance research looks into the origins of works of art and is a classical discipline in art history. It delves into the history of a cultural object that starts when the work is created. It aims to trace who commissioned, acquired or dealt with a work of art as well as how, from whom, where, for how much and possibly for whom. In ideal cases the motivating factor behind the acquisition or sale is to be determined as well as the connetion in which the work stood to the individual owner(s) and/or holder(s) (reception) – whether in the private or public domain – and in what connection a work forms part of a collection and what role it played (collection history). Read more...

Tags

Kunsthändler der Avantgarde
De
 | 

Flechtheim UND SEINE WERKE

Widmung

Diese Website ist Alfred Flechtheim gewidmet.

ONLINE AUSSTELLUNG

15 Museen zeigen bis Februar 2014 in Ausstellungen und auf der Website www.alfredflechtheim.com Kunstwerke, die durch ihre Provenienz (= Herkunft) in Verbindung mit den Galerien von Alfred Flechtheim stehen. Die gezeigten Werke sind über verschiedene Wege in die jeweiligen Sammlungen gelangt: einen Teil erwarben die Museen direkt bei Alfred Flechtheim, sei es als Ankauf, Geschenk oder durch seine Vermittlung. Weitere Werke wurden von ihm an Dritte verkauft und gelangten über mehrere Zwischenstationen - meist nach 1945 - in die Museen. ... mehr

FLECHTHEIM UND DIE MUSEEN

Hamburg Leipzig Dortmund Bonn Hannover Bremen Münster Düsseldorf Köln Frankfurt Karlsruhe Stuttgart München Zürich
Berlin Wien Köln Frankfurt Düsseldorf
Historische Standorte der Galerie Flechtheim
Beteiligte Museen

Tweetup

Zur Ausstellung wurde am 12.12.2013 in der Hamburger Kunsthalle und in der Pinakothek der Moderne, München ein Tweetup veranstaltet. Die ausgehenden Tweets wurden alle mit dem Hashtag #flechtheim gekennzeichnet und können auf der hier verfügbaren Twitterwall nachgelesen werden. 

Provenienz-
forschung

Provenienzforschung heißt Herkunftsforschung und ist eine klassische Disziplin der Kunstgeschichte. Es geht bei dieser Forschung um die Geschichte des Kulturgutes, die mit der Entstehung des Werkes einsetzt. Herauszufinden ist, wer ein Kunstwerk wie, bei oder von wem, wo, für wie viel und eventuell für wen beauftragt, erworben oder gehandelt hat. Im Idealfall ist die Motivation des Erwerbs oder des Verkaufs zu erfahren und in welchem Zusammenhang das Werk bei den einzelnen Eigentümern und Besitzern zu sehen gewesen war - ob im privaten oder öffentlichen Bereich und in welchen Sammlungszusammenhängen das Werk welche Rolle gespielt hat. ...mehr.

Tags